Written by on 13. Juni 2019

Nach ihrem erfolgreichen “Reset” Album (2016), melden sich Torul mit “Hikikomori” eindrucksvoll zurück.

Zwei Jahre sind vergangen, in denen die Band nicht untätig war. Ganze vier (!) Vorab Singles mit “Explain”, “You Won”, “Ausverkauft” und dem neusten Sprössling “Te Sooner The Better”, mit jeweils dazugehörigem Video, durften “Hikikomori” bereits ankündigen.

Der eingängige, ausgefeilte Synthi-/Electropop von Torul ist noch tiefer, melodiöser und “professioneller” geworden. Ein 13 Song Album das qualitativ wie quantitaiv seinesgleichen sucht. Auch beim Artwork geht man neue, künstlerische Wege. “Hikikomori” ist haupstächlich ein Synthpop Album, das aber nicht mit organischen Instrumenten geizt, und Einflüsse aus dem Synthwave und Electro vorzuweisen hat. Düster und intensiv, gleichermassen melodiös und angereichert mit der unverkennbaren Stimme von Sänger Maj bringen eindringliches “Licht” ins Dunkel. 

01 You Won
02 Explain
03 Ausverkauft
04 So Long, Goodbye
05 The Sooner The Better
06 Hikikomori
07 Spanje
08 Stay This Way
09 In Our World
10 Bad Boy Dreaming
11 Good To See You Home
12 You Won (Live from rehearsal)
13 Threnody


Album Trailer :

English Version:

After the album ‘Reset’, released late 2016, Torul are finally back with a highly anticipated new album titled ‘Hikikomori’.

In the meantime, the band has been very active, releasing no less than four singles as a ‘warm up’ to the new full-length album: ‘Explain’ with a splendid video shot in an abandoned air base, then ‘You Won’, an animated piece of an imaginative world passing by, followed by the ‘Ausverkaut’, both a criticism of modern consumerism and a temptation, sweet joy of the material, and finally the ‘The Sooner the Better’, a catchy bitter-sweet song with a solo dance video, saying ‘I need to forget you/forgive you’, followed by, ‘the sooner the better’. They also added a Slovenian single titled ‘Spanje’ which is about Torulsson’s sleeping disorders.

If we had to point out one Torul album that was (most) spontaneously put together, it would be ‘Hikikomori’. There were more than twenty songs in production of which 13 finally made it to the album. The final selection was almost an auto-selection, only the songs that made sense to put them on the album were chosen.

It was a period of changes and progression; Torulsson’s vocals are now present on more than half of the songs, often complementing Maj’s voice, but also soloed some of the tracks. The reason is simple—the direct expression of the songwriter wherever it seems to be the best choice. Introducing a bass guitar as a ‘new instrument’ in Torul music with the song Explain, it is now present also in some of the other tracks on the album. However, Hikikomori is still mostly a synthy album, the sound strongly influenced by synthpop, synthwave and electro, although we often get that indie feel through vocals, as they are not too polished, sweetened, but deliberately remain a bit rough.

The Hikikomori album is a bit dark, but at the same time it’s intentionally as light as possble —how’s that so? While Torul have never avoided subjects such as sorrow, introvertion, mild fatalism, relationships frustrations, dealing with pain, indifference, there seems to always be some sort of ‘light’, or at least a little beam of light, some hope, and a state of just living in melancholy. Thus, there is a denial of pure darkness, or better said, fighting against it, to never overwhelm us completely. Music is therapy, cure, hope.

Or the light at the end of the tunnel is just a train approaching us, as the phillosopher Žižek asks? You may want to find this out yourself.

Quelle / Label:

Continue reading

Schwarze Welle

Die Besten Dunklen Lieder

Current track